What Are the Minimum Car Insurance Laws in Utah?Request Free Consultation
Utah is one of the most beautiful states to live in and explore. However, a car accident can happen at any time on Utah roads, putting drivers and their passengers at risk of severe injury and even death. A collision can result in unexpected hardships, from thousands of dollars in medical bills to unbearable pain and suffering.
In the event of an unexpected accident, Utah requires drivers to carry certain amounts of car insurance. This coverage reimburses victims of car accidents for their damages and protects drivers’ assets if they cause a crash. Failure to meet these minimum car insurance requirements can result in penalties like fines and license suspension.
Utah Is a No-Fault Car Insurance State
Utah follows a no-fault car insurance system. In a no-fault state, drivers are financially responsible for their injuries and damages following a collision, regardless of who caused the accident. To pay for these damages, Utah drivers are required to carry at least $3,000 in personal injury protection (PIP) coverage.
Car accident victims have the right to step outside of the no-fault system if they suffer serious injuries and another driver caused the accident. To meet the serious injury threshold, the victim must have incurred at least $3,000 in medical bills or experienced one of the following injuries:
- Permanent impairment
- Permanent disfigurement
- Permanent disability
Utah Requires Drivers to Carry Liability Insurance
In addition to PIP coverage, Utah law requires drivers to purchase and carry liability insurance. This coverage protects the driver if he or she is found to have caused a car accident and the victims’ injuries meet the serious injury threshold.
The minimum coverage requirements for liability insurance in Utah are as follows:
- $25,000 in bodily injury liability coverage per person in any accident
- $65,000 in total liability coverage per accident where more than one person is injured
- $15,000 in property damage per accident
If the victim’s injuries exceed these minimum thresholds, the policyholder is financially responsible for the remaining amount. To protect your assets, it is a good idea to purchase higher amounts of liability insurance.
What Happens If a Driver Doesn’t Carry Car Insurance in Utah?
Although Utah does have car insurance laws in place, not all motorists adhere to these requirements. Penalties for driving without insurance can be severe in Utah, depending on the number of previous offenses and the circumstances surrounding the conviction.
If the driver is found driving without insurance after a traffic stop, he or she could face:
- $400 in fines and a suspended license until proof of insurance is provided, for a first offense
- $1,000 in fines and a suspended license until proof of insurance is provided, for a second offense
If the motorist is found to be uninsured after a car accident, he or she could face:
- $400 in fines and a suspended license until proof of insurance is provided for a first offense
- $1,000 in fines and a one-year compulsory license suspension for a second offense
Injured in a Car Accident? Speak to an Attorney
Car accidents can be scary experiences, and you may wonder what to do next. Filing a claim allows you to recover compensation to heal from these losses and potentially hold a negligent driver accountable. As soon as possible after your accident, contact a Utah car accident lawyer to discuss your legal options.