St. George Uninsured Motorist ClaimsRequest Free Consultation
Being in an accident caused by someone or something else entitles you to compensation for your damages, and generally, an insurance company will pay this compensation. If the other driver was at fault for the accident, their insurance will generally cover your damages.
What happens if the party that caused your injuries does not have insurance? What if their insurance is not enough to cover the full amount of your damages? In these situations, you might worry that your family will have to cover all these costs out-of-pocket. You may not be wrong, but by working with an attorney, you can ensure that you collect the full amount you are entitled to.
One of the dedicated personal injury attorneys from We Win Injury Law is standing by to provide you with risk-free, cost-free assessment of your case. We will listen to the facts of your case and let you know if we can help you collect damages if the party at fault was under-insured or uninsured.
Why Choose the Uninsured Motorist Attorneys at We Win Injury Law?
- Our firm holds over 50 years of combined legal experience. We have the skills and knowledge necessary to handle your complex uninsured motorist claim and recover fair compensation on your behalf.
- We are dedicated to protecting your best interests and securing maximum financial recovery. Our lawyers have recovered millions of dollars in settlements and jury verdicts for our clients.
- There is no legal fee unless we recover compensation on your behalf. Our firm takes all cases on a contingency fee basis to limit your out-of-pocket expenses and make legal representation accessible to everyone.
Car Insurance Laws and Penalties in Utah
Utah is one of a handful of states that follows a no-fault insurance standard. Under this system, drivers are financially responsible for their injuries following a car accident. The law requires all drivers to carry at least $3,000 in personal injury protection (PIP) coverage.
If you are caught driving without insurance, you can face between $400 to $1,000 in fines, depending on the number of previous offenses. Your driver’s license will also be suspended until you can provide proof of insurance. You will also need to pay additional fees for court security, license reinstatement, and registration reinstatement.
Utah Law and UM/UI Coverage
If you are hit by an uninsured driver, generally you will turn to your own insurance coverage to consider whether you are entitled to compensation through your uninsured motorist coverage. Insurance companies offer coverage for accidents involving underinsured and uninsured drivers so that if the driver that caused your accident is not covered, your own insurance will kick in and provide you compensation for your related costs.
In the context of motor vehicle accidents, Utah Code Ann. Sec. 31A-22-302 clarifies that uninsured motorist coverage is not required by law. You are not required to purchase protection from under-insured or uninsured drivers, but if you make the choice not to, you may be the one paying bills associated with your accident caused by someone else. This might not seem fair, but making the choice to get onto the roads entails certain risks, and Utah law does not protect you from underinsured or uninsured drivers.
However, just because your insurance company denies coverage, doesn’t necessarily mean that you are financially responsible for your damages. An experienced attorney can examine your policy to see if you actually have coverage and investigate the incident to potentially find other sources of coverage.
Compensation Available in St. George Uninsured Motorist Claims
An unexpected car accident can disrupt your life in many ways, impacting your finances, physical health, and psychological well-being. By filing an insurance claim or a personal injury lawsuit, you can recover a settlement to help pay for these losses.
There are several damages available in uninsured motorist claims. Your attorney from We Win Injury Law can help you explore all potential avenues of compensation and gather evidence to prove your right to recovery for:
- Lost Wages and Earning Capacity: If you need to take time off of work to recover from your injuries or receive treatment, you can claim the value of your lost wages. You can also recover compensation for the loss of future earning capacity if you are unable to return to your job.
- Medical Expenses: You have the right to recover the full value of any medical treatment that you require. These costs may include surgeries, medications, check-ups, and rehabilitation or physical therapy.
- Property Damage: If your vehicle or personal possessions were damaged in the accident, you can recover compensation to repair or replace them. You can even secure a settlement to purchase a new vehicle if your car is damaged beyond repair.
- Pain and Suffering: You can recover non-economic damages for the pain and suffering that you experienced. Examples of pain and suffering include emotional distress, loss of quality of life, and chronic pain.
What to Do If You Are Hit by an Uninsured Driver
If you are hit by a driver without insurance, you should stay calm and take steps to prepare for your future claim. Report the accident to the police by calling 911. Seek medical care, even if you do not feel injured. Take photographs of the scene and talk to witnesses who may have seen the accident happen.
The driver may try to talk you out of filing a claim and offer an out-of-pocket settlement. Do not accept the money and do not speak to the driver aside from gathering his or her contact information. This settlement is likely insufficient. Instead, contact a St. George car accident attorney as soon as possible to initiate your claim.
Connect with a St. George Uninsured Claim or Under-Insured Claim Lawyer Now
Recovering compensation in an accident caused by someone or something else when the at-fault party does not have insurance can put you and your family in a precarious position. While you might win a court case requiring you to be paid, the at-fault party without insurance may not have the resources to cover your damages. Without an experienced attorney on your case, you may be left without the ability to determine where to collect your damages. In such a situation, you and your family will be left to cover all bills and costs associated with your injuries.
For help determining where and how to collect your damages from an underinsured or uninsured party, schedule a consultation or call the experienced personal injury attorneys from We Win Injury Law at (877) 939-4646 to explore options.